One Pont Down, ?? to Go!

Luxembourg_01Yesterday was a lovely sunny blue morning here in Paris.  Miss Cyd spent a pleasant day at the Jardin du Luxembourg, which is just south of St. Germaine des Pres, and the Abbey of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, which is the oldest church in France, wCathedral_SGdP_05 while I packed up my plein air painting gear and strolled down to the Seine.

I found a nice spot right on  the Left Bank of the river with a good view of the south end of the Pont Neuf and the sun behind my back to set up my Thumb Box. I got in about three hours of good painting before I broke everything down and headed up the street for lunch and a cold KilkPontNeuf_01enny at the Great Canadian Pub, which was only a block away.

Miss Cyd showed me an excellent way to carry wet hardboards without smearing them. I set this up originally in Aix after a bit of work with an Exacto knifePontNeuf_02 on a couple of corks and some painter’s tape. After hand carrying the Mont Saint-Victoire painting down from the Jardin des Peintres, it became evident that this strategy would work better with a cork on each corner. Of course, this meant four bottles of good French wine had to give their all to provide the corks for the spacers, so it took a few days to gather the raw materials. I packed the Pont Neuf pPontNeuf_03ainting in this manner, stuffed it in my backpack, and carried it through the streets of Paris without mishap. As long as I have a couple of matching canvases, this strategy will work for any size hardboard. Since I limited my canvas selection on this trip to an ample supply of 6″x12″, 8″x10″, and “9”x12″ gesso boards, all of these will fit into my backpack for a day of plein air painting.

Once I got back tPontNeuf_Finalo our flat in St. Germaine des Pres after lunch, I worked on the final details of the painting and, thus, the first of Les Ponts series was born. One down, but how many to go on this trip? That is hard to say, since it appears that it will take about a day to complete each painting and we are heading back to London next Thursday for our flight back Stateside on Saturday.

I also want to spend at least one good museum day with Miss Cyd at the d’Orsay, the Louvre, and the L’Orangerie, so maybe a few more, but I will have plenty of excellent photos to do some work en atelier later on during those bitterly cold AZ winters ;-). Oh well, all work and no play makes for a dull day, so I am off to start another painting. Perhaps today I will do this scene of the Pont de la Tournelle with the Pont du Sully visible through the span? Or this one of the Pont de l’Archevêché, looking back from the Left Bank toward Notre Dame in the background?

Pont_delaTournelle Pont_dArcheveche
Pont de la Tournelle Pont de l’Archevêché

It’s another beautiful sunny Spring day here in Paris, so I won’t know for sure until I amble down to the river and find the perfect spot for today’s painting. Daylight is burning, so I better quit writing the blog, pack up, and get on about the day’s activities.

Joe and Cyd

Leave a Reply

